Georgia Football: Bulldog's Murray & Gurley Named To Walter Camp Watch List

Aaron Murray, photo by Sonny Kennedy,

Georgia senior quarterback Aaron Murray and sophomore tailback Todd Gurley have been named to the 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List, according to an announcement Friday by the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

The nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade will narrow its watch list to 10 semifinalists in mid-November. The 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on December 12.

The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on January 11, 2014 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Murray, a native of Tampa, Florida, is one of the nation’s elite at his position. In 2012, Murray ranked second in the nation in passing efficiency at 174.82. He became the first Southeastern Conference quarterback in history to have three consecutive 3,000-yard passing seasons last year.

In his 28 wins as a starter, he has 74 touchdowns to just 16 interceptions. Murray is the SEC’s leading active player in total offensive yards (10,301), completions (696), touchdown responsibility (105), touchdown passes (95) and passing yards (10,091).

Todd Gurley, photo by Sonny Kennedy,

Gurley, a native of Tarboro, North Carolina, was a 2012 Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) Freshman All-American after becoming the 12th Bulldog to rush for 1,000 yards in a season and the first since Knowshon Moreno in 2008. Gurley went for 1,385 yards, which ranks sixth in school history for a single season, and 17 touchdowns (a UGA freshman record) on 222 carries (6.2/carry).

Only Gurley and Bulldog legend Herschel Walker have tallied 1,000-yard seasons in their true freshman seasons. Gurley finished 2012 with nine games where he went for at least 100 yards rushing, which ranks third in school history for a season.

Herschel Walker was named the 1982 Walter Camp Player of the Year. Walker also won the Heisman Trophy that year.

All photos copyrighted property of Sonny Kennedy,

Next Bulldogs Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov3:30at Florida GatorsBuy Tickets

Tags: Aaron Murray Georgia Bulldog Football Georgia Bulldogs Todd Gurley Walter Camp Award

comments powered by Disqus