Jan 1, 2014; Jacksonville, FL, USA; As Georgia Bulldogs placekicker Marshall Morgan (13) kicks a 39-yard field goal in the second quarter of their game against the Nebraska Cornhuskers at EverBank Field . Mandatory Credit: Phil Sears-USA TODAY Sports

UGA kicker Marshall Morgan named to 2014 Lou Groza Award watch list

So far, perfection when it comes to preseason watch lists. Georgia continued their run of having at least one player on every list when kicker Marshall Morgan was named to the 2014 Lou Groza Award watch list.

The Groza Award is given annually to the nation’s top collegiate place-kicker as determined by a voting panel of Division 1 head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters from across the county, conference representatives, professional kickers and previous winners.

Morgan will have his work cut out for him, as returning Florida State kicker Roberto Aguayo is looking to become just the second repeat winner in Groza history, the first being another FSU product, Sebastian Janikowski.

The Lou Groza Award

The Lou Groza Award

UGA has had a great tradition of top place-kickers, and although Morgan may have looked shaky in his freshman season, he has grown into an extremely accurate and dependable kicker, connecting on 91.7% of his field goal attempts.

The Groza Award began in 1992, and despite having some of college football’s best kickers since then, no Georgia Bulldog has ever taken home the award. Perhaps Morgan can break that streak in 2014.

Because, we LOVE kickers at Dawn of the Dawg!

For more on all the happenings in Georgia Athletics be sure to follow DawnoftheDawg on Facebook, Twitter, and use our Android/iOS app to get updates directly from FanSided. Or you can receive email updates from DawnOftheDawg.com, by completing the following form here.

Next Bulldogs Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov3:30at Florida GatorsBuy Tickets

Tags: Football Georgia Bulldogs Lou Groza Award Marshall Morgan

comments powered by Disqus