Georgia Bulldogs Win Three Individual Events At SEC Indoor Championships


Junior Hilenn James, freshman Chanice Porter and sophomore Garrett Scantling secured their spot in Georgia track and field history on Saturday as they captured Southeastern Conference individual crowns.

James, a native of Trinidad and Tobago, saved her top shot put throw of 55 feet, ¾ inches for her sixth and final throw to top Missouri sophomore Jill Rushin. James, who set the school record earlier this year with a mark of 55-1.50 in this same facility at the Razorback Invitational, and Rushin both had second throws measuring 54-8.25. But Rushin was in position to win until the final round because her second-best throw was longer than James’ second best.

James becomes the first Lady Bulldog to win an SEC indoor shot put title since 1999 (Rhonda Hackett) and only the second in school history.

Porter, a native of Prattville, Jamaica, improved on her second, third and fourth long jump attempts as her fourth jump measured 21-0.50 to lock down the win. Equaling her collegiate personal best, Porter managed to top the second-place competitor by more than seven inches.

This is the first SEC indoor long jump title for the Georgia women since 2008 Olympic silver medalist Hyleas Fountain captured the long and high jumps as well as the pentathlon championships at the 2004 SEC meet.

Scantling, a native of Jacksonville, Florida, set two personal bests and equaled another career-best effort on Saturday to win the SEC heptathlon championship with a school record score of 5,889 points. Scantling capped his title run by clocking a 2:50.41 in the 1000-meter run. His final score moved former Bulldog Cory Holman to No. 2 on the UGA all-time list after Holman scored 5,873 at last year’s NCAA Championships.

Scantling is only the second Bulldog in school history to win an SEC heptathlon title. Tommy Barrineau won in 2010 with a then school record score of 5,700 points.

The Georgia women (18) surged into second place at the meet with the two victories. Arkansas is leading with 28 points.