Georgia Bulldogs preseason honors and watch lists, complete recap

4 of 5

September 29, 2012; Athens, GA, USA; Tennessee Volunteers quarterback Tyler Bray (8) fumbles the ball after a hit by Georgia Bulldogs linebacker Jordan Jenkins (59) during the fourth quarter at Sanford Stadium. Georgia defeated Tennessee 51-44. Mandatory Credit: Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

Bednarik Award – Best Defensive Player

The Maxwell Club named 76 players to the Watch List for the Bednarik Award, first awarded in 1995. Semi-finalists will be named November 3, and finalists on November 24. The winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards on December 11. The only Bulldog to win the Bednarik Award was David Pollack in 2004.

The Bulldogs had a familiar trio on the list: Leonard FloydJordan Jenkins and Ramik Wilson.

Bronco Nagurski Award – Best Defensive Player

The Charlotte Touchdown Club will award the Bronco Nagurski Award to one of the 81 on the watch list on December 8th in Charlotte. The only Bulldog to win the award since it was first given in 1993, is Champ Bailey (1998). Bulldogs on the list are: Leonard FloydJordan Jenkins and Ramik Wilson.

Butkus Award – Best Linebacker

The Butkus Award watch list includes 51 players from 40 schools. Semi-finalists will be named October 27, finalists November 24, and the winner will be notified on or before December 9. Now in its 30th year, the award was expanded in 2008 to have winners at the high school and professional levels. Once again, a recurring trio of Bulldogs were selected: Leonard Floyd, Jordan Jenkins and Ramik Wilson.

Rotary Lombardi Award – Best Lineman or Linebackers within 10 yards of the ball and less than five yards from the line of scrimmage.

The watch list includes 123 athletes from 76 schools. The 45th Rotary Lombardi Award will be held on December 10 at the Bayou Music Center in Houston, Texas. Georgia players include Leonard Floyd and Ramik Wilson.

UGA was left off the next watch lists, but don’t be surprised to see a Bulldog or two included by the time semi-finalists are announced.