Nick Chubb, Damian Swann Lead Georgia’s Postseason Awards Charge


Freshman running back Nick Chubb and senior safety Damian Swann are leading the Georgia Bulldogs postseason award winners for 2014 so far.

More from Georgia Football

Nick Chubb is going to have to buy a bigger trophy case based on the way things have started in his freshman year.

The freshman tailback was named the SEC Freshman of the Year this week, as well as garnering First Team Coaches All-SEC honors, as well being named First Team AP All-SEC.

Chubb took over as the starting tailback when Todd Gurley was suspended early in the season, and became just as feared as his junior counterpart by opposing defenses. He rushed for 1,281 yards and 12 touchdowns on 186 carries (6.9 average) and became the 12th Bulldog in history to reach 1,000 yards rushing in a single season. Chubb also added 18 catches for 213 yards and a pair of scores.

Not to be outdone on the defensive side of the ball, senior safety Damian Swann also will have some hardware added to his shelves this year, as he was named to the Second Team Coaches All-SEC list, as well as the AP Second Team All-SEC.

Along with Chubb and Swann, the more Bulldogs have already been named as finalists for some postseason awards. Center David Andrews was named as a Rimington Trophy finalist, given to the nation’s top center each year.

Here are the postseason award selections to date

Coaches All-SEC First Team Offense

RB – Nick Chubb

Coaches All-SEC Second Team Defense

LB – Ramik Wilson

LB – Amarlo Herrera

CB – Damian Swann

Associated Press – Freshman of the Year

Nick Chubb

AP First Team Offense

RB – Nick Chubb

AP First Team Defense

LB – Amarlo Herrera

AP Second Team Offense

L – Greg Pyke

C – David Andrews

AP Second Team Defense

LB – Ramik Wilson

CB – Damian Swann

AP Honorable Mention Offense

PK – Marshall Morgan

L – John Theus

AP Honorable Mention Defense

LB – Leonard Floyd

S – Quincy Mauger