Georgia Bulldogs Football: Unveiling the All-Mark Richt Team

12 of 12

Jan 25, 2015; Phoenix, AZ, USA; Team Irvin quarterback Matthew Stafford of the Detroit Lions (9) after the 2015 Pro Bowl at University of Phoenix Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Quarterbacks – Matthew Stafford (2006-2008), David Greene (2001-2004)

It was tough…really tough…to leave Aaron Murray out of this category, but the nod is given to Greene over Murray for one simple fact.

SEC Championships: Greene -1, Murray – 0

We love you Aaron Murray, but you just needed that one ring. Just one.

For his part, David Greene was simply a winner. Until Murray came along, he had won more games than any quarterback in Georgia, SEC and NCAA history. He led the Dawgs to the 2002 SEC Championship, and set passing records that had stood for decades prior.

Stafford (like Moreno) had all too short of a Georgia career, and another season may well have brought that elusive national championship home to roost in Athens. Three seasons in Athens put Stafford in the spotlight and in the record books. His arm was legendary, and he’s still going strong in the NFL. Had he been a 5-year player like Murray, he would have probably eclipsed every Georgia passing record imaginable.

Next: 5 Underclassmen to Watch in 2015