Georgia Football: Reading the Media Days Tea Leaves


The 2015 edition of Georgia Football received a bell ringing endorsement from Southeastern Conference Football Media Days attendees.

Related: The All-Time Greatest Penn Wagers Games

More from Georgia Football

The 2015 Georgia football team received a ringing endorsement as media days attendees voted seven Bulldogs on the 2015 Preseason Media Days All-Southeastern Conference Team and by a landslide vote predicted Georgia to win the Eastern Division .

SEC Media Days predictions are notoriously unreliable, picking the winner five times in the last 23 years. With three Georgia players named first or second team, a number exceeded only by Alabama, and with Nick Chubb, receiving the highest point total of any player, the team expectations are at least logical.

Sophomore tailback Chubb and senior offensive tackle John Theus were named to the first team and junior offensive guard Greg Pyke to the second team. With senior Malcolm Mitchell the only wide receiver from Georgia making the list as a third teamer and the Dawgs quarterback spot wide open, Georgia looks like a run first and run last offensive team.

More from Dawn of the Dawg

Alabama also has two offensive linemen and a running back on the first and second Preseason Media Days All-SEC Team and an ongoing quarterback battle. When the Dawgs and Tide meet on October 3, expect a fast moving game. And if the teams meet again in Atlanta, as predicted by the Media Days’ attendees, the outcome will be decided by the health of each squads running backs and the progress of each teams’ quarterback.

On defense, Georgia senior outside linebacker Jordan Jenkins was included on the First Team and junior outside linebacker Leonard Floyd on the Second Team. Bulldog Senior Marshall Morgan is the first team place kicker.

And while the Media Days attendees picked Alabama and Georgia to represent their respective conference divisions in the SEC Championship game, Auburn received the most votes as the predicted SEC Champion. Only observers unfamiliar with the shenanigans that have gone on in Auburn scoff at the notion.

The complete breakdown of the media’s SEC votes follows. The noted number indicates a first place vote:

SEC East                 

  1. Georgia Bulldogs (166)
  2. Tennessee Volunteers (36)
  3. Missouri Tigers (20)
  4. South Carolina Gamecocks (1)
  5. Florida Gators (1)
  6. Kentucky Wildcats (1)
  7. Vanderbilt Commodores

SEC West

  1. Alabama Crimson Tide (92)
  2. Auburn Tigers (108)
  3. LSU Tigers (10)
  4. Arkansas Razorbacks (6)
  5. Ole Miss Rebels (3)
  6. Texas A&M Aggies (4)
  7. Mississippi State Bulldogs (2)

SEC champion

  1. Auburn Tigers, 96
  2. Alabama Crimson Tide, 80
  3. Georgia Bulldogs, 28
  4. LSU Tigers, 9
  5. Ole Miss Rebels, 3
  6. Arkansas Razorbacks, 3

Next: The Five Greatest Plays from the Georgia-South Carolina Rivalry