Georgia Football Grabs Nine Preseason Coaches All-SEC Spots


The Georgia football team is expected to win the SEC Eastern Division and that prediction received an endorsement from the Preseason Coaches All-SEC Team.

Related: If Georgia Football Were a Song

Georgia football placed nine players on the Pre-Season Coaches All-SEC team.

More from Georgia Bulldogs News

The selections reflect the expected strength of the 2015 Bulldog squad. On offense, tackle John Theus and tailback Nick Chubb made the first team offense and guard Greg Pike made the second team offense. Malcolm Mitchell was selected as a second team wide receiver and Isaiah McKenzie as a second team return specialist.

On defense, linebacker Jordan Jenkins took a first team spot and both Leonard Floyd and Lorenzo Carter were named third team linebackers.

Marshall Morgan is the first team placekicker

Only Alabama and LSU placed more players on the Team with a league-leading 10.

Arkansas was the only school to place no one on the team, despite a predicted fourth place Western Division finish behind Alabama, LSU, and Auburn. And despite a predicted third place finish in the West by the coaches, Auburn placed only one player on the All-SEC Coaches Team with quarterback Jeremy Johnson named to the third team.

More from Dawn of the Dawg

All this to say, this is all much ado about very little of substance. Congratulations to the players, but the news is made on Saturday’s when game clocks around the South run to 0:00.

More accurately on Saturday’s and Thursdays when game clocks around the South run to 0:00.

The SEC season begins on Thursday, September 3 when South Carolina faces North Carolina in Charlotte and Vanderbilt hosts Western Kentucky.

Preseason Coaches All-SEC Team

First Team Preseason All-SEC


TE –  Evan Engram, Ole Miss

OL –  Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss; Vadal Alexander, LSU; Cam Robinson, Alabama; John Theus, Georgia

C –     Mike Matthews, Texas A&M

WR – Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina; Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss

QB –   Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

RB –  Nick Chubb, Georgia; Leonard Fournette, LSU

AP –  Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina


DL –  Myles Garrett, Texas A&M; Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss; A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama; Chris Jones, Mississippi State

LB –  Reggie Ragland, Alabama; Curt Maggitt, Tennessee; Jordan Jenkins, Georgia

DB – Vernon Hargreaves, Florida; Cyrus Jones, Alabama; Jalen Mills, LSU; Jonathan Jones, Auburn


Nov 1, 2014; Jacksonville, FL, USA; Georgia Bulldogs place kicker Marshall Morgan (13) during the first quarter against the Florida Gators at EverBank Field. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

PK – Marshall Morgan, Georgia

P –    JK Scott, Alabama

RS –  Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina

Second Team Preseason All-SEC


TE – Hunter Henry, Arkansas

OL – Dan Skipper, Arkansas; Greg Pyke, Georgia; Germain Ifedi, Texas A&M; Denver Kirkland, Arkansas

C –    Ryan Kelly, Alabama

WR–D’haquille Williams, Auburn; Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia

QB –  Maty Mauk, Missouri

RB –  Derrick Henry, Alabama; Alex Collins, Arkansas

AP –  Leonard Fournette, LSU


DL –  Jonathan Bullard, Florida; Derek Barnett, Tennessee; Jonathan Allen, Alabama; Montravius Adams, Auburn

LB –Antonio Morrison, Florida; Kentrell Brothers, Missouri; Kendell Beckwith, LSU

DB–Will Redmond, Mississippi State; Tre’Davious White, LSU; Cameron Sutton, Tennessee ;Tony Conner, Ole Miss

Nov 8, 2014; Lexington, KY, USA; Georgia Bulldogs wide receiver Isaiah McKenzie (16) runs for a touchdown against the Kentucky Wildcats at Commonwealth Stadium. Georgia defeated Kentucky 63-31. Mandatory Credit: Mark Zerof-USA TODAY Sports


PK –  Austin MacGinnis, Kentucky

P –     Jamie Keehn, LSU

RS – Leonard Fournette, LSU; Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia

Third Team Preseason All-SEC


TE – O.J. Howard, Alabama

OL –Alex Kozan, Auburn; Sebastian Tretola, Arkansas; Devonte Danzey, Auburn; Jordan Swindle, Kentucky ; Brandon Shell, South Carolina

C –   Evan Boehm, Missouri

WR–Demarcus Robinson, Florida; Travin Dural, LSU; Josh Reynolds, Texas A&M

QB –  Jeremy Johnson, Auburn; Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee

RB –  Jonathan Williams, Arkansas; Russell Hansbrough, Missouri; Kelvin Taylor, Florida

AP –  Speedy Noil, Texas A&M


DL – Carl Lawson, Auburn; Davon Godchaux, LSU; Caleb Azubike, Vanderbilt; Ryan Brown, Mississippi State

LB –  Leonard Floyd, Georgia; Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn; Lorenzo Carter, Georgia

DB – A.J. Stamps, Kentucky; Rohan Gaines, Arkansas; Trae Elston, Ole Miss; Johnathan Ford, Auburn; Eddie Jackson, Alabama


PK – Elliott Fry, South Carolina

P –   Drew Kaser, Texas A&M

RS – Darrius Sims, Vanderbilt

Next: Keeping the Yellow Jackets in Check