Georgia Bulldogs preseason honors and watch lists, complete recap

2 of 5

Nov 30, 2013; Atlanta, GA, USA; Georgia Bulldogs running back Todd Gurley (3) celebrates a touchdown with center David Andrews (61) in overtime against the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets at Bobby Dodd Stadium. Georgia won 41-34 in overtime. Mandatory Credit: Daniel Shirey-USA TODAY Sports

Heisman Trophy – Best Player

Although the New York Touchdown Club does not release an official watch list, many predictions for players to watch have already been made. Previous winners of the Heisman Trophy from UGA are, of course, Frank Sinkwich (1942) and Herschel Walker (1982).

The Bulldog representative found on most of the unofficial watch lists is Todd Gurley. Although he missed three games and was limited in five others others by injury, he racked up 989 rushing yards, 10 TDs, 37 receptions, 441 receiving yards, and 6 TDs.

Walter Camp Player of the Year – Outstanding Player

The watch list includes 50 players from 42 schools are represented, 33 from the offensive side, and 17 from the defense. Like most player of the year awards, players can be added to the list based on their current year’s performance. Semifinalists will be announced November 19, finalists on December 3, and the winner during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 11.

Herschel Walker (1982) is the only UGA player to receive the award since its inception in 1967. Two Bulldogs are on this year’s watch list: Todd Gurley and Ramik Wilson, both familiar names in pre-season honors.

Maxwell Award – Best Player

The Maxwell Club named 74 players to the Watch List for the Maxwell Award which has been awarded since 1937. Semi-finalists will be named November 3, and finalists on November 24. The winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards on December 11. Previous UGA winners include Charley Trippi (1946) and Herschel Walker (1982). Another running back, Todd Gurley, was the only Georgia player named this year.

Outland Trophy – Best Interior Lineman

The Football Writers Association of America will award the Outland Trophy to one of the 64 on the watch list. Six to seven semifinalists will be named on November 20, and three finalists named four days later. The finalist will be named during The Home Depot College Football Awards on December 11. The only Bulldog on the list is David Andrews.