Georgia Golf Falls to LSU in NCAA Semi-finals


LSU ended the Georgia golf team’s improbable run in the NCAA semi-finals.

The Georgia golf team’s Cinderella run from a 26 seed ended at the door of the NCAA Finals. At the NCAA Championships in Bradenton, FL LSU defeated the Dawgs 3-1-1 and will face Southern California tomorrow for the national title.

More from Georgia Bulldogs News

Although Georgia’s Mookie DeMoss and Greyson Sigg trailed the entire match, the Dawgs kept the match all square approaching the turn. After Zach Healy took a one hole lead on 10 to give Georgia the edge. LSU’s senior Benjamin Taylor responded by winning three of the last seven holes, securing the 3-1-1 match win for LSU.

“I think a lot of people will remember this team and the run they made. I know I will,” Georgia coach Chris Haack told “They’ll always be special to all of us because of what they did this week. I am very proud of them. It’s not the way we wanted to see it end, but the guys fought hard and didn’t give anything away. They played their hearts out and that’s all I can ask for.”

More from Georgia Bulldogs News

Junior Lee McCoy, chosen as a First-Team All-American Tuesday morning, topped Stewart for the lone Bulldog win.

“We had a good week and put ourselves in position to win it, but we just didn’t quite get it done,” Sigg told “But we can hold our heads high. To make it to the national semis is big for our program. It means a lot we made it this far and we can build on that.”

The Dawgs, seeded 26 out of 30 teams, surprised everyone by cruising through stroke competition. On Tuesday morning in the round of eight, the Dawgs easily defeated host South Florida 4-1.

“We gave it our all,” McCoy told “Every guy on this team has a lot of heart and showed a lot of fight. I am proud of each and every one of them.”

The Bulldogs’ have now appeared three times in match play, the format adopted in 2009, and they are now 4-3 all-time. Georgia went 2-1 in 2011 and 1-1 in both 2009 and 2015. The Bulldogs won national championships in 1999 and 2005, both under Haack.

Next: The SEC is Ready for Satellite Camp Showdown